Intel Is Dying, And We Can’t Save It

How I realized that this is truly the end of the Intel era.

Sithindu Sirisooriya
4 min readAug 7, 2020

If you keep up with the tech world, even to a minimal extent, you may be aware that Intel has been struggling for the past few years. I was recently catching up on some news, however, and I (rather abruptly) concluded that Intel, the company which had all but dominated the world of computer processing in the past 42 years, is dying.

That’s right, I’m calling it here.

Intel is dying.

For someone who had been an Intel fan from childhood, this was quite a shock. The first PC I toyed with at a very young age was powered by Intel. My first laptop was powered by Intel. Back in 2012, I built my first computer, and it was powered by Intel. And yet, I dare to say that Intel is dying. How did this happen? Why would I come to such a bold conclusion? Am I insane?

Arch-nemesis AMD

Although my first instinct is to attribute the death of Intel to the release of AMD’s Zen platform, AMD isn’t solely to blame. Since 2012, Intel was the hare taking a nap under a tree. Performance-wise, Intel did not progress, leading many (including myself) to proclaim that “Moore’s Law is dead!”

--

--