Why I Dumped Chrome for Firefox

The line must be drawn here! This far, no further!

Sithindu Sirisooriya
5 min readAug 8, 2022

I used Chrome as my browser of choice for nearly a decade. This was out of the ordinary for me because I am usually the explorer, finding new ways to make my life better (or, sometimes, worse). However, for some reason, my browser felt sacred, and whenever I began to consider changing browsers, I quickly dropped the notion. Why fix something that isn’t broken?

But at the beginning of the pandemic, I began thinking: does Chrome really deserve my loyalty? I’ve used many other browsers for web development or for fun, so I knew that Chrome didn’t offer the best user experience possible. There was nothing keeping me tethered to Chrome other than the slight inconvenience of switching.

So, in a leap of faith, I downloaded Firefox (using Chrome, something one might normally have expected to occur through Microsoft Edge or Internet Explorer) and after I installed it, I closed all my Chrome tabs and windows. Since then, Firefox has been my browser of choice when using a PC.

Why dump Chrome?

  • It’s just not that good.

Since its release in 2008, Chrome has improved vastly. In a turn which was unimaginable just over a decade ago, Chrome has supplanted Internet Explorer as the global

--

--